Links

If you have a favourite outdoor related website you would like added to the list please email the information to the Durham Outdoors Club.


Clubs and Associations:

  • Hike Ontario: http://www.hikeontario.com/

  • Oak Ridges Trail Association (ORTA): http://www.oakridgestrail.org/

  • East Coast Trail Association: http://www.eastcoasttrail.com/

  • Skyline Hikers of the Canadian Rockies: http://www.skylinehikers.ca/
    If you have ever thought you would like to safely hike in theCanadian Rockies check this not-for-profit site.

  • Ontario Recreational Canoeing and Kayaking Association (ORCKA): www.orcka.ca/

  • Paddle Canada: http://www.paddlecanada.com/

  • Alpine Club of Canada - Toronto Section: http://www.alpineclubtoronto.ca/

  • Bruce Trail Association: http://www.brucetrail.org/

  • Rideau Trail Association: http://www.rideautrail.org/

  • The Federation of Ontario Naturalists (FON): http://www.ontarionature.org/
    Protects Ontario's nature through research, education, and conservation action. FON champions woodlands, wetlands and wildlife, and preserves essential habitat through its own system of nature reserves. FON is a charitable organization representing 15,000 members and over 100 member groups across Ontario.

  • Wilderness Canoe Association (WCA): http://wildernesscanoe.ca/
    A non-profit organization made up of individuals interested in wilderness travel, mainly by canoe and kayak, but including backpacking and winter trips on both skis and snowshoes.

  • Seniors for Nature Outdoor Club: http://www.seniorsfornatureoutdoorclub.ca/
    Seniors for Nature Outdoor Club offers active canoeists, 55 and over, usually retired, the opportunity to participate in year-round outdoor recreation for fun and wellness. It is a special interest club affiliated with the Federation of Ontario Naturalists. Start-up funding was provided by grants from the New Horizons Program of Health and Welfare Canada.

  • Five Winds Backcountry Ski Club: http://www.skifivewinds.org/
    A cross country skiing club in Toronto providing a unique winter experience on marked, ungroomed wilderness trails in the Gibson River area.

Parks and Conservation Authorities:


General Interest:


Gear and Equipment:

  • Mountain Equipment Co-op: http://www.mec.ca
    Gear and equipment supplier. They rent camping gear. Web site contains articles on selecting and taking care of equipment.

  • Sail: http://www.sail.ca/
    Gear and equipment supplier.

  • Wild Rock Outfitters: http://www.wildrock.net
    Gear and equipment supplier. They also rent canoes, kayaks, camping gear and more.

Outfitters